As I mentioned at the beginning of the year – I am trying to eat soy-free vegan as much as possible for various reasons.  At this point I am not giving up the meat entirely yet.  I share chicken bun with Beck for lunch every Saturday, and I love pork products as much as Beck, so I just can’t bear to part with them.  I am, however, doing a good job of finding more meat-free dishes to make for dinner.

As a way to keep myself motivated and to share the veggie love, I’ve decided to start posting what I have for dinner each night.  Some of it will be amazingly delicious and beautiful.  Much of it probably won’t be.  Not all will be vegan, but a lot should be.  I hope you all enjoy my dinner adventures.

Sunday, January 25th

Braised Sweet and Sour Cabbage with Kidney Beans served on top of rice.  Baked Pears with Currants and Cinnamon.  Both recipes are from Vegan Italiano by Donna Klein.  

I did not have red kidney beans so I used black beans.  I didn’t have currants so instead used raisins.  I served the pears with ice cream – regular cow’s milk for Dave and coconut milk for Beck and myself.

The cabbage was good, but tasted as boring as it looks.  Dave said it would be good with sausage and beer.  I have to agree.  The pears were delicious though, and I think they made up for the cabbage.  The second picture is what Beck had for dinner – rice, cucumber slices and strawberry.

dinnerjan25beckdinnerjan251dessertjan25

Monday, January 27

Linguine with Bread Crumbs and Lemon from Vegan Italiano by Donna Klein and salad.

I used penne instead of linguine and added chopped greens to the boiling pasta at the last second to wilt them and threw in a chopped tomato to give it some color (and to use up my last tomato that was about to go bad).  The salad is just some green leaf lettuce, a pear, an apple, walnuts, dried cranberries and raisins with a homemade vinaigrette.  A much prettier and yummier dinner than Sunday’s.

dinnerjan26

