Aren’t Blueberries Already Sweet?

I stopped by Smart and Final, “the smaller, faster warehouse store” this morning to pick up a few things.  I got a mop, a gallon of Simple Green, a big bottle of the dish soap I use, and vinegar for cleaning.

Beck and I decided to check out the food section to see if there was anything we could eat.  I wasn’t expecting much, this is not the place to get organics and besides, Beck can’t eat much processed food because of his allergies.  But then I saw a big bag of dried blueberries and I got excited.  Beck loves dried blueberries!  Not fresh ones so much, they don’t have the right texture apparently.  I buy little bags of dried blueberries at Trader Joe’s, but we go through them rather quickly and it is better to go with bulk to save on packaging.  I flipped the bag over to read the ingredients, as I habitually do with everything now to check to see if some soy or milk somehow made it’s way in.  (You would be amazed how many things contain soy or milk products!)  First ingredient, blueberries.  Second ingredient, high-fructose corn syrup.  What?  I picked up some other dried fruits and read their ingredients.  Strawberries, raspberries, apricots, they all had high-fructose corn syrup.  They are fruits!  That is where fructose comes from!  Why do you need to add more?

No wonder Americans have such bad health problems.  Even a snack that should be healthy like dried fruit has added sugar.  Read your food’s ingredients.  You should be able to pronounce all of them and picture what they look like.  They should come from a farm, not a science lab.  You do not need high-fructose corn syrup in your life.

Leave a Reply

