Pretty Nails, What’s on them?

I’ll admit it, I don’t spend a lot of time manicuring my nails. I honestly don’t remember the last time I put polish on them, it’s been years. So I am not the best person to talk about this, but I thought I would throw it out there for those of you who do like to paint your nails.

Most nail polishes contain all kinds of nasty things like formaldehyde, toluene, and phalates. Every time you open the bottle toxic fumes are released. Worse, your skin absorbs these chemicals. Many of the major cosmetics companies have taken some of the worse chemicals out, but they are still far from good for you. One of my sisters, who loves to paint her nails, told me that all of the polishes she has tried recently bothered her skin. Not good.

Fortunately, there are safer polishes coming onto the market. The ones I have seen have been water based. You can get these polishes online and in some health food stores. I have not tried any of these, so I can’t attest to their beauty-enhancing qualities, but if you paint your nails on a regular basis, you ought to at least look into getting safer polish. If you go to a salon, bring it with you. I’m sure the person doing your mani and pedi would like to give her lungs a break.

Here is a link to one polish out there that I have heard good things about, Acquarella.  Do a Google search and you’ll find plenty more.

If any of you tries this or another safe polish, post a comment on my blog to let us all know what you think of it.

Leave a Reply

