The Easiest Play Dough

I got this recipe from Beck’s art class.  I have made a couple of batches for him at home and it is great stuff.  I’ve seen other recipes for play dough before, but this one is made of stuff that I always have around the house.  It is so much cheaper than the store-bought play dough, doesn’t contain petrochemicals, is easy and quick to make, and lasts for weeks if you keep it in an airtight container.  The vinegar actually helps preserve it by inhibiting growth of nasty things.   Don’t refrigerate it though, makes it hard to work with.

3 cups flour

1 cup water

1/2 cup salt

1/4 cup oil

2 Tablespoons vinegar

Mix all ingredients together.  I use my kitchen aid and it works great.  If it seems dry, add more water; if it is wet, add more flour.  Mix in coloring if you would like.  Serve with plenty of imagination, various cookie cutters, safe knives, rolling pin, and whatever else you have around.  I put a silicon mat down on the table and let my little man play on that to make clean up a little easier.

Leave a Reply

