Fast, Cheap, and Easy

This article by Kurt Michael Friese in Grist made me laugh, so I thought I would share it.  My favorite line is “In America, if we are what we eat, most of us are fast, cheap, and easy.”

I haven’t seen the KFC commercial in question, but I know I make dinners all the time for less than $10.  Granted, it’s just me and my husband and a 20 month old, but we often have enough leftovers for 2 more people.

I have an idea.  Let’s see how many under $10 meals for 4 we can come up with.  Click on the comment link and share your favorites.  Mom, you should have plenty!

One thought on “Fast, Cheap, and Easy

  1. teresastips says:

    Here is one to start us off.

    Sausage and Lentil Stew (from the label of a bag of black lentils from Trader Joe’s)

    1 1/2 cups black lentils, rinsed and drained
    1 pound sweet italian sausage
    8 oz. frozen sweet corn
    4 ribs celery, chopped
    1 medium yellow onion, chopped
    5 1/2 cups water
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    black pepper

    Rinse the lentils and cull them for small stones and debris. Remove sausages from casing and place into a heavy 4-quart pot with tight fitting lid. Lightly brown sausage while breaking into small pieces. Add celery, onion, and corn to pot. Saute until vegetables soften.
    Pour in the water, add the salt and a bit of ground pepper. Add lentils. Stir all ingredients together, cover, and bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring occasionally.
    Reduce the heat and simmer for about 2 hours, stirring from time to time to prevent lentils from burning. Remove lid for the last 1/2 while simmering.

    Serve with crusty bread for a complete meal.

    If you can’t find black lentils, I imagine this would be equally delicious with black beans. You also don’t need the full pound of sausage. I have used as few as 2 sausages and it came out great. You could use veg. sausage or a ground meat of your preference as well instead of the sausage. Maybe just add a bit of seasoning to it. I don’t see why you couldn’t adapt this to go in a crock-pot, just do the sauteing first and reduce the amount of water you add.

Leave a Reply

