Cauliflower with Gingery Tomatoes

I got this recipe yesterday with my CSA Basket.  I made it last night for my husband and a friend and they both loved it.  As I was cutting up the ginger I thought to my self that it was way too much and would be too spicy, but it was great.  My friend said he doesn’t even like ginger, but he loved this and asked me for the recipe.  Thought I would be nice and share it with you too.  It’s always good to have an extra cauliflower recipe on hand. 

Cauliflower in Spicy Tomato Sauce

Serves four 

2 Tablespoons canola or olive oil 
3 whole dried red chilies or the equivalent in crushed red chili flakes, about 1/2 teaspoon 
1 1/2 teaspoons cumin seeds
2 inch piece of ginger, peeled and julienned
1 small head cauliflower, cored and cut into medium florets 
About 1 teaspoon salt, or to taste
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
2 medium sized tomatoes, chopped 
1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
Small handful fresh cilantro, chopped

Combine the oil, chilies, and cumin seeds over medium-high heat. Cook for about a minute. Add the ginger, stir, and cook for about another 30 seconds. Add the cauliflower, stir, and cook for 2 – 3 minutes or until the caulfilower begins to brown. Add the salt and pepper. Cover the pan and reduce the heat to medium. Cook for about 7- 10 minutes until the cauliflower begins to brown and starts to get tender. Uncover and cook a little more reducing the heat if it is getting too brown.

Stir in the tomatoes and vinegar, cover, and cook another 2-3 minutes adding a little water if needed so there’s a little sauce. You can always evaporate away some of the liquid until you get the desired consistency. Taste for seasoning then stir in the cilantro. 

*** Note from Teresa- I added a little bit of water to the pot while the cauliflower was cooking for the 7-10 minutes to keep the spices from burning and to steam the cauliflower a bit.  The cauliflower didn’t get as brown that way, but it cooked up very nicely.  I also didn’t have any cilantro on hand, so I used parsley.

 

Leave a Reply

