Yes, I’ve been eating dinner.

So my “I am going to post what I eat for dinner every night” idea isn’t really taking off.  We had family visiting for a while, which threw me off schedule, and I’ve been dealing with short naps, temper tantrums (often mine) and various illnesses.  So I haven’t been very inspired to write.

Here is a summary of some of the things I have eaten since I last wrote:

Falafel made from a box mix with homemade pita, hummus, dolmas, tahini sauce and veggies.

Penne with jared marinara sauce and a salad.

Other stuff that couldn’t have been that great because I can’t remember them.

Dave and I went out one night for a date.  That never happens!  We went to a new Asian shopping/dining center in Irvine and ate at Capital Seafood.  I had the most amazing Thai Seafood Stew.  Maybe Dave should stop by there on the way home and get some for tonight’s dinner.

I took a few pictures too.  Oh, and I uploaded pictures onto the last entry I sent out to you all.  If you are interested you can go on my website and check them out.

becks-party-dinnercupcakes

Beck’s Birthday Party!  We had chicken and carnitas tacos with rice, black beans, and pinto beans.  Aunt Annabelle shows off the eats.  For dessert I made both chocolate and carrot cake cupcakes, both vegan of course, and we got cookies from a local Mexican bakery.  The event was followed with a very hard to break open pinata.

cabbage-taco

Here are some Costa Rican Cabbage-Stuffed Tortillas from Donna Klein’s new cookbook The Tropical Vegan Kitchen.  They were quite tasty, a good way to eat cabbage.

carribean-bean-soup

Also from The Tropical Vegan Kitchen, Quick Caribbean Black Bean Soup.  Made with refried black beans (left over from Beck’s party) and coconut milk, this was yummy.  I served it with a colorful salad.

Last night I made Slow Cooker Vindaloo from a recipe on Vegetariantimes.com  I didn’t take a picture.  It was quite good, but a bit thick.  I’ll try adding more water the next time to give it more of a sauce.  An easy and tasty way to get your veggies.

Leave a Reply

