Beck-safe treats

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while, my computer died.  I’m using my husband’s now, hopefully I’ll get mine back soon.  I have a big list of ideas to share with you.

As I’ve mentioned before, my son can’t eat anything with dairy, soy or eggs in it.  That leaves out most treats, at least as they are traditionally made.  I can’t even get him vegan treats at the health food store because they usually have soy in them.  Lucky for him, I like to bake.

I’ve been able to adapt many of my favorite cake recipes simply by using ground flax seed or Ener-g egg replacer instead of egg and rice milk instead of cow’s.  It gets a little trickier when the original recipe calls for butter though, as most cookie recipes do.

One book I have found helpful is Babycakes, by Erin McKenna.  The subtitle is Vegan, Gluten-Free, and (Mostly) Sugar-Free Recipes from New York’s Most Talked-About Bakery.  That just about sums it up.  Erin uses healthy ingredients like coconut oil, agave nectar and fruit purees.  Beck loves the zucchini muffins (he thinks that is what cupcakes are).  This morning I made the Mexican Wedding Cookies and my husband thought they were one of the best cookies I’ve ever made, even counting my pre-Beck days.  I like the chocolate cookies, but I have to fiddle with that recipe a bit.  They melted all over the place and were greasy.  I’m going to try them again with less oil and a little pureed black bean.  I haven’t made the cupcakes yet, but we bought some when we were in NY from the bakery and they were delicious!

I would recommend this book to anyone with allergies, or people who just want to eat healthy but still indulge with baked desserts.  Please note though, the coconut oil should be melted when you measure and use it.  I didn’t know that the first time I tried a recipe.  oops.

Leave a Reply

