Tomatoes sans BPA

Hello Everybody!

I hope you all had a great holiday season!  I haven’t forgotten about my little blog, in fact I think of things to write all the time, I just never quite get to it.  Beck is phasing out his naps and we typically spend all morning (and many afternoons) outside, so computer time is limited.

I wanted to share something with you real quick.  I have been avoiding using canned foods as much as possible since learning that the epoxy lining them contains BPA which leaches in to the food, especially high-acid foods like tomatoes.  Even jars aren’t entirely safe because the lids are lined with BPA containing epoxy as well.  Yet canned tomatoes are just so convenient!  What are we to do?

Well, the folks over at The Soft Landing blog seem to have more time on their hands than I do and they have tracked down some BPA-free tomatoes. Their findings? Pomi Tomatoes and the tomatoes from Trader Joe’s in Tetra Paks.  In case you don’t know, Tetra Paks are the aseptic cartons you often see things like rice and soy milk and soups in.  They are BPA and other nasty chemical free and are recyclable in many areas.  Yay for Tetra Pak!  Yay for tomatoes!

Now if only I could find some sardines in a tetra pak.  Beck loves his sardines!  (weird kid)

Leave a Reply

