Lemon-Dill Green Bean Salad

I got this recipe, along with a bag of just picked green beans, with my CSA basket last Thursday. I immediately had to make it! I didn’t have any shallots, so I just skipped that ingredient. Red onion could easily replace them. Since I am trying to incorporate more raw food into my diet, I didn’t blanch the green beans. They were crisp and delicious and Dave and I loved them.

Lemon-Dill Green Beans

From EatingWell: May/June 2009, November/December 2010
This lemon and dill vinaigrette is a natural complement to green beans. It’s also great tossed with steamed asparagus or drizzled over sliced fresh tomatoes.
4 servings, about 1 cup each | Active Time: 15 minutes | Total Time: 25 minutes

Ingredients
1 pound green beans, trimmed
4 teaspoons chopped fresh dill
1 tablespoon minced shallot
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon whole-grain mustard
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

Preparation
Bring an inch of water to a boil in a large saucepan fitted with a steamer basket. Add green beans, cover and cook until tender-crisp, 5 to 7 minutes. Remove from the heat.
Meanwhile, whisk dill, shallot, oil, lemon juice, mustard, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Add the green beans and toss to coat. Let stand about 10 minutes before serving to blend flavors.

20110601-072154.jpg

2 thoughts on “Lemon-Dill Green Bean Salad

  1. fatloss4idiots says:

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today..

    • teresastips says:

      Thank you, you are too kind. I am using the tarski theme, which is free. I am glad that you are enjoying my blog. I enjoy writing it.

Leave a Reply

