Day 6 Buffet may not have been the way

Today I started off strong, things got a little bumpy, but I pulled it together for a good finish.

I was the first one up this morning. Everyone is still adjusting to the time change. It will probably take them a few weeks. I made breakfast, snack and lunch for my little man, and a smoothie for my big man. For myself I had a cup of broth and half a banana. I ate the other half about an hour and a half later.

20130312-212038.jpg

My son got him self dressed today. What do you think? The shirt is his uniform, the rest are all his picks.

20130312-212205.jpg

When I got home from dropping him off and doing a few errands I started feeling the urge to eat something. Not a salad though. I realized that it was the first time I was really alone in the house since starting this experiment. My alone time is my time to eat stuff I wouldn’t normally eat otherwise. This is not good. This is not a healthy way to eat. I started doing stuff around the house to distract myself. That is when I finished my banana.

My husband called me and needed me to bring something up to his office. I got there just before lunchtime so we decided to go out to eat. He listed off a few places and we decided on a Persian buffet since he said they always have chicken kebabs and a bunch of vegetable choices. Well, they did have a variety of vegetable choices, but most of them had lentils or other beans in them, which are not paleo and are high in starch, and therefore not an option for the next 21 days. Of the non-legume choices there was a salad with a rather suspect looking dressing, a cabbage salad similar to coleslaw, and parsley salad (tabouli). I got the cabbage and the parsley salads, chicken kebabs, beef koobideh, and a bit of tzatziki sauce. Everything was good, but the cabbage salad tasted rather sweet and most likely had sugar in it. As I was finishing the tabouli I remembered that it is typically made with bulgar, which is wheat. Oops. This one was mainly parsley but there was little bits of white in it. Was it just diced garlic? It tasted mostly lemony, not too garlicky. Chances are good it was bulgar. Oh well, tomorrow is another day. My stomach felt heavy for a few hours after.

In the afternoon I had some unpasteurized sauerkraut, which means it still has all the good bacteria in it our guts need. My son ate some too.

For dinner I made spaghetti squash with a homemade tomato, eggplant and ground bison sauce and Italian sausages. It didn’t really need the sausages, but I knew it would help sell it to my husband and son.

20130312-215203.jpg

Leave a Reply

