Apple Induced Sugar Crash

Today, I learned that apples have a lot of sugar.

For breakfast I had an avocado with salt and a leftover bison slider. An avocado is so simple and so delicious.

20130318-195709.jpg

Mondays Beck gets to leave school early and we have lunch together. We decided to go to Whole Foods today. Just when you walk in the door they have a display of juices they make throughout the day. He wanted to get a fresh squeezed orange juice and I got a green juice. The ingredients were celery, apples, spinach, kale, spirulina, and wheatgrass. I was a bit concerned about the apple, but figured it would be ok. I also got an arugula and asparagus salad and added a hard boiled egg and some tuna for protein.

20130318-200527.jpg

Big mistake.

By the time I got home my head was feeling weird. I felt foggy, almost dizzy. I could feel a headache coming on. I drank a glass of water, hoping it would help. I texted my sister and told her. She wrote back that it sounded like hypoglycemia and to have some protein and a carb. Unfortunately, I was no longer at home and didn’t have anything to eat. By the time I got back home I had a full on headache. I ate some coconut flakes and a piece of cheese and laid down for a bit till I had to go pick my son up again. I still felt pretty crappy.

We went out to dinner at a local Mexican restaurant. $2 fish tacos on Monday. I got three grilled fish tacos with cabbage, onion and cilantro on a lettuce wrap instead of tortillas. I skipped the grated cheese and creamy chipotle sauce. When it became apparent that Beck wasn’t going to eat his guacamole I stole it and topped my last taco with it.

20130318-201923.jpg

I felt much better after eating, but my head still feels a little fuzzy. Hopefully I wake up recovered in the morning.

One thought on “Apple Induced Sugar Crash

Leave a Reply

