Salad vs. Sandwich

I can’t believe I am almost done with 21 days without sugar and I am doing so well. I thought for sure I would be miserable. While I do miss baking, I haven’t had too many cravings and the ones I have had I’ve been able to get over without too much trouble. I feel good. My energy and moods have both been more stable. Everyone appreciates that. My husband has also appreciated the disappearance of my “puffy layer.” I haven’t really lost weight, but that was not a goal of mine anyway. Since easing myself into the paleo lifestyle over the past 6-9 months I’ve lost weight and now weight what I did in my early twenties. I just need to get to where I can exercise and firm things up and all will be good.

Breakfast today was two eggs scrambled with smoked salmon and half an avocado. It was really good.

20130325-194858.jpg

My husband and I went to the good Vietnamese restaurant for lunch and I ordered pho with vegetables instead of noodles. It was quite good. I haven’t had broth for about a week, so I’m glad I had the soup.

20130325-195242.jpg

In the late afternoon I had a snack of coconut flakes, hazelnuts and a cup of tea.

20130325-195437.jpg

My husband and I went to a new market next door to the Vietnamese restaurant and I found “real” pickles – meaning they were fermented and not pasteurized. They were reasonably priced, so I snagged a jar. When it came time for dinner I wanted to use them and thought they would be good with the ham I had. But what else? Salad? Carrots?

Cuban sandwiches are good.

How about a Cuban sandwich without the bread? Perfect.

20130325-200512.jpg

I heated the ham in my skillet and melted some Kerrygold cheddar on top. I put that on a bed of arugula and topped it with sliced pickle, avocado and spicy brown mustard. I had some cinnamon tossed carrots on the side. It was very filling and very good. Score.

Leave a Reply

